Raediant Re-Vamped ~ Hello world!

 As most Blogs this started out as one thing and has now turned into something all together different. Now don’t worry my original idea of this blog has not been thrown completely out the window I just have to find another way to get it done. In the mean time, Im journaling, ranting, raving, dancing, creating and putting it all here for the world to see.
About Me~~ I’m Erica Rae a dancer from Philadelphia, whose background is in Modern, Ballet, Jazz, Tap, South African, and Latin dance. I love experimenting with movement, its differences and similarities of dance in many different cultures.

ME & Dance or Dance & I–> Where it all started….I began dancing with Miss Brenda Lee at Brenda Lee’s Dance Studio as my mother’s way to get out of the house. My older sister took classes so i was sent along with her and lo and behold i stuck with it. Once I entered high school i grew to love dance more than i even thought i could. I grew up with a good foundation in technique, I was accepted into a performing arts high school it is there that i was introduced to Alvin Ailey, the Horton Technique and be it that I am from Philadelphia PHILADANCO, just like the rest of my peers. By college I had discovered National Dance Theatre Company of Jamaica. I really am interested in the similarities of dance between the two countries and other Caribbean dance styles as a whole.

I may as well tell you know right now, that I LOVE LOVE LOVE all things Jamaica, Dancehall , Reggae & Flava Dance I was bit with that bug at the age of about 13 before I even got a chance to visit the island. When I saw “Shabba Ranks” Trailer Load of Gal, Chaka Demus & Pliers “Murder She Wrote, & of course Patra “Romantic Call”, I saw these videos and HAD to learn to tic and wine up my body Chaka Demus & Plers “Murder She Wrote” Somewhere along the way of sneaking into dances, studying the dance movements, i began to develop an even stronger interest in the culture and history of Jamaica. I also began to grow in my studies of dance throughout high school and college. There is no question i love to express myself through movement.

What to make of all of this……I believe i have a story to tell, knowledge and movement to share with others and just a need to express myself. Join me on my dance journey as i explore learn and continue to grow, as a dancer, instructor, and choreographer……


Raediant Movement allows me to express each dance styles and my passion for both

Leave a Reply

